Q & A: Can I Do An Accent for my Speech?

Q: I just had a question about the monologue speech. I know in class today you said try not to use accents. The monologue I want to do actually is of a girl doing a British accent. Would it be alright if I did the British accent? I think it will definitely help me separate myself from the character an just be the character. I have been practicing the speech in the accent and have also been told that it is a pretty good British accent.

A: It’s not really a “is it alright” question – I just want you to use your judgment. I recommend against accents because a) they’re hard to do, b) it’s an unnecessary complication to what is already a challenging assignment, c) they’re usually (and this is where you might have a different issue) irrelevant to the material being communicated…so why add the labor?, d) even if all of those other things are true, most accents (this isn’t usually true of British accents) just wind up making the speaker appear racist. So if you have objections to those concerns than use your judgment and do what you think is going to get you the best possible performance with the least amount of possible distractions and complications. Sorry I can’t be more “yes” or “no” but exercising judgment amidst uncertainty is roughly 92 percent of what we do all semester – so I want you to practice!

Response from Student:

Ok. Thank you. I will try it without the accent or just practice with both and see which is most comfortable. I am just so used to hearing it in the accent.

Response from Me:

LOL the email was supposed to indicate that I was leaning toward “do the accent” without stealing your agency- if its more work to drop it than to keep it AND it’s British and therefore not likely to come across as racist AND you prefer it to help you get into character AND your accent is pretty good….see where i’m going?

Leave a Reply

