January 12: Welcome

First day of class! Not much to report. We began discussing the upcoming Monologue Speech assignment and the importance of “interestingness” and a strong central idea, which was illustrated using the Cerulean Monologue from the Devil Wears Prada. More information can be found at the course eLC page–>content–>assignment description and samples–>monologue.

Welcome everyone. I hope you have a great semester and please contact me if you have any questions.

This blog is just a place for me to post follow up materials each week as the course progresses – materials that are useful but not required and would clutter up the eLC page. I recommend people follow my WordPress but I don’t require it. Anything that is crucial for everyone I will send by email and/or post to eLC. Everything that is just useful I will put here.

Like all human beings I change my foci hundreds of times a day so the blog is a way to write about something that might be useful or relevant to me (and you) today but that won’t still be on my mind come Thursday.

Do with it what you will.

Lee

Published by

RhetoricLee

I am a rhetorical scholar, public speaker, and teacher at the State University of New York at Geneseo. I study speech and contemporary U.S. political culture and teach courses in public speaking, interpersonal and visual communication, speech and media, and rhetorical theory and criticism. I have been featured on RabbitBox Storytelling and TEDx.

Leave a Reply

