Vetting Your Monologue (part 32,495)

One of the reasons I don’t vet monologues (i.e. you send me a monologue link and say, “what do you think?”) is practical: it would=be impossible with 100 students. The second reason is more general: your ability to select a monologue (or write a speech, or take a test) is part of what the assessment is assessing. If I pick it for you (or you pick it and I verify it) then it’s not really an “assessment.”

But most importantly, it’s REALLY important for your public speaking skills (and life skills) that you be able to not only identify central idea statements and themes on your own but also evaluate their clarity, sophistication, development and audience applicability.If I do the vetting for you then, again, I undermine your development in this very important area.

But I do respect your anxiety and desire to do well and I appreciate it. So certainly reach out. But before doing so, given what I’ve said above, I suggest you read the recent blog posts, review your notes from class when we discussed central ideas and themes, ask someone else to maybe talk through your central idea/theme with you and, with that kind of underway, if you still have questions you can send me what you think the theme is and the central idea statement (or closest approximation) and i might be of more help.

Good luck!

Published by

RhetoricLee

I am a rhetorical scholar, public speaker, and teacher at the State University of New York at Geneseo. I study speech and contemporary U.S. political culture and teach courses in public speaking, interpersonal and visual communication, speech and media, and rhetorical theory and criticism. I have been featured on RabbitBox Storytelling and TEDx.

Leave a Reply

